Malaysia Ice Hockey Federation Summer League 2016

It was a short and sweet finale for all players in the recent Malaysia Ice Hockey Federation (MIHF) Summer League 2016. Definitely a memorable one as teams competing in a three month short league before heading to the finals on 23 rd July 2016. Before getting the crowd puller for Division 3 and 2 games, MIHF organized an MIHF Young Troopers Exhibition Game to showcase the young players of the age from 5-7 years old having a 6 a-side friendly game. The Young Troopers is a team formed by MIHF Hockey School.

Division 3 (Rimau Cindai (RC) 6 – 1 Scanclimber (SC)

Scanclimber entered into the finals after winning an intense and close game against team Golden Phoenix with the score of 4-3. Here in the finals, Scanclimber face team Rimau Cindai, which have been dominating during the entire regular season with an impressive unbeaten record of 6 wins in a row. In the first period of the finals started with an opening goal by Faiq Haikal.

(1st Period: RC 1 -0 SC)

In the second period, Rimau Cindai continued with their dominance with adding 2 additional goals by Adele Wong and Emanuele Badrulshah Gan. Scanclimer did not give up either and Aniq Iskandar scored Scanclimber’s first goal in the finals.

(2nd Period: RC 4-1 SC)

Rimau Cindai continued with their aggressiveness by adding another 2 goals in the 3 rd period from Emanuele Badrulshah Gan and Claire Wong.

(3rd Period: RC 6 – 1 SC)

It was indeed a very exciting game to watch as these young players battled on ice and showcase their talent to the public audience. Although the score was one sided; there were loud cheers and encouragements from parents, fans and spectators from the ice rink floor up till the very top floor. Thank you to the young players for showing us your talent on ice. Malaysia Ice Hockey future is looks promising.


Division 2 (Harimau Enra 2 – 1 Coyotes)

Harimau Enra have been dominating in their regular season with undefeated record of 6 wins and 2 ties are up against Coyotes; a newly formed team that selected players are gathered from other teams in Division 2. Coyotes faced with Samurai in the playoffs, winning 6-1 to secure a spot in the finals of Division 2. Team Harimau Enra booked their spot in the final as well with the win against Jazura Girls with the score of 5-1. In the first period, there were many scoring chances by both teams. However, Vinodraj Sundram from Harimau Enra broke the deadlock by scoring the first goal with a slapshot from the blue line that went straight to the top right corner, passed Coyotes’ goalie, Chua Boon Keong.

(1st Period :Harimau Enra 1 – 0 Coyotes)

Into the second period, two teams picked up penalties after penalties as the game got more aggressive and exciting. Team Coyotes manage to equalized from Chris Kung and assisted by Muhd Syafiq Hamzah.

(2nd Period :Harimau Enra 1 -1 Coyotes)

Third period got more intense as both teams are trying to capitalize their scoring chances. Team Harimau Enra manage to get the Game Winning Goal by Raja Arif Mikhail Raja Amin with a beautiful one timer that went straight to the top of the net and the goal was assisted by Ilhan Mahmood.

(3rd Period :Harimau Enra 2-1 Coyotes)

Both teams showcase their talent at the very young age at the intermediate level of ice hockey in Malaysia. One team which are totally dominating in the regular season are playing against a newly formed team, which are united and have the passion to win in every game. What a beautiful ending in this final game.


Role of Honours


Best Forward: Amir Faris Azra (Scanclimber)

Best Defensemen: Austin Goh Chu Shern (Rimau Cindai)

Best Goaltender: Putra Muhammad Hidayatullah (Rimau Cindai)

Most Promising Player: Mohd Afiq Iskandar Mohd Nor Asrizal (Scanclimber)

Most Promising Player: Carmen Lee Jia Wen (Golden Phoenix)

Most Promising Player: Mohammad Faiq Haikal Bin Mohd Haikal (Rimau Cindai)

League Champion : Rimau Cindai

Tournament Second Runner Up: Golden Phoenix

Tournament First Runner Up: Scanclimber

Tournament Champion: Rimau Cindai



Best Forward: Fareez Kamarozzaman (Harimau Enra)

Best Defensemen: Vinodraj Sundram (Harimau Enra)

Best Goaltender: Raja Adam Bin Raja Amin (Harimau Enra)

League Champion: Harimau Enra

Tournament First Runner Up: Coyotes

Tournament Champion: Harimau Enra


Other News