Malaysia Invitational Ice Hockey Tournament 2016 (#MIIHT16)

Melting pot on ice at MIIHT!!!

There was no shortage of thrills, spills and chills in Sunway Pyramid as teams battled

it out on ice from Sept 7-10 at the recent 2016 Malaysia Invitational Ice Hockey

Tournament (MIIHT).


A total of 23 teams from Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, Hong Kong and the

Philippines took part in the annual event held in Sunway Pyramid Ice. The teams

took part in the U11, U14, U17, Women and Asian divisions. There were more than

10 nationalities represented at the tournament.


As the games got underway, so too did the crowds come in to support the teams. For

four days, the rink was transformed into a melting pot for ASEAN hockey. With the

focus on development in particular for the youth, it was a great chance for the

Malaysian crowd to get a glimpse of the hottest game and players on ice.


We would like to thank Sunway Pyramid Ice, Sunway Pyramid, media partner Star TV

and Mesuma. Thanks to our guests YBhg Datuk Marina Chin, Chef De Mission of the

SEA Games 2017, YBhg Dato’ Prof Dr. Zakaria Ahmad, Vice President of Olympic

Council of Malaysia and Ms. Noraseela Mohd Khalid, Chairperson of Athletes

Commission – Olympic Council of Malaysia. And not forgetting the host of organizers

and volunteers who have worked tirelessly to make the tournament a memorable

one for all.


Roll of Honours

U11 Silver Cup Division

Champion: Singapore Ice Dragons A

Runner Up: Hong Kong Penguins

Best Forward: #19 Thomas Bouchard (Singapore Ice Dragons A)

Best Defensemen: #6 Ronan Wu (Hong Kong Penguins)

Best Goalie: #19 Liam Blakney (Singapore Ice Dragons A)


U11 Gold Cup Division

Champion: Philippines Islanders

Runner Up: Singapore Ice Dragons B

Best Forward: #88 Matthew Lee (Philippines Islanders)

Best Defensemen: #32 William Monteith Adams (Singapore Ice Dragons B)

Best Goalie: #93 Aaron Lalonde (Philippines Islanders)


U14 Division

Champion: Badax Indonesia

Runner Up: Thailand Canstar Rangers

Best Forward: #63 Jonathan Ryan Ferry Nugraha (Badax Indonesia)

Best Defensemen: #3 Zachary Ho (Badax Indonesia)

Best Goalie: #31 Phutthimet Ieosuwan (Thailand Canstar Rangers)


U17 Division

Champion: Philippines Islanders

Runner Up: Team Malaysia

Best Forward: #9 Bryan Lim (Team Malaysia)

Best Defensemen: #8 Joshua Carino (Philippines Islanders)

Best Goalie: #31 Jim Huang (Philippines Islanders)


Women Division

Champion: Jazura Pink

Runner Up: Jazura White

Best Forward: #94 Alyssa Ho (Jazura Pink)

Best Defensemen: #25 Fatin Nadjwa Fadzli (Jazura Pink)

Best Goalie: #00 Tanya Slattern (Jazura Pink)


Asian Division

Champion: Hong Kong Hitmen

Runner Up: Malaysia Kita Juara Red

Best Forward: #68 Norm Chin (Hong Kong Hitmen)

Best Defensemen: #3 Yap Eu Jin (Malaysia Kita Juara Red)

Best Goalie: #35 Sam Szeto (Hong Kong Hitmen)


Tournament pictures, click here.

Other News